This idea has been archived, contributions have been disabled 

Comments (6)

Hi Fredrik and Tobias,

Although this is a bug it is not a user scenario that we encounter very often, ie that you lock a document that you have no intention of editing and then leaving it open until you have been automatically logged out.

We try to push updates to the projectplace plug-in only when it is really needed as this involves reinstallation for all our users, which would for most people be much more annoying and potentially cause more errors than this bug.

For those people who have problems with this bug, you can use the document manager in conjunction with the PowerTab so get the same functionality as the projectplace plug-in. Then you get a list at the end of the day with all your open documents to close and unlock.

Best regards,
Karolina

I don't agree with your premiss Karolina. It's not necessarily that a user locks a document with no intention of editing it. It's rather that you lock a document WITH the intention of editing it, but for whatever reason, don't edit it. And since you're logged out after 30 minutes (at least that was the case before the new release, I don't know if this has chenged), the session might have expired when closing the document.

And here's the biggest problem. Projectplace asks you if you want to unlock it, and you click Yes without getting any warnings or errors indicating that what Projectplace told you were in fact never done.

So you end up with people thinking that they've unlocked the document and the rest of the project will have to get in touch with this person, or an administrator, in order to get them to unlock the document.

And I do get that you don't want to update the client software all the time. But I mean, come on. For seven years. That's just a slap in the face of your paying customers.

You can use the document manager in conjunction with the PowerTab so get the same functionality as the projectplace plug-in. Then you get a list at the end of the day with all your open documents to close and unlock. Maybe this is the right solution for your projects?

No, you are missing the point. Projectplace is used as a tool to increase productivity, so to introduce new software (document manager) and updating/educating all project members on this, and to top it off, add a new step that they should do at the end of the day, isn't the solution.

I mean, it's great that you have the document manager and for those who are already using it, all the power to them.

But the core problem is that one part of your product is broken, and instead of fixing it, you want your customers to do a time consuming work-around. I don't get it. If the problem is that you don't know how to fix it, just own up to it. Sorry, we don't know how to fix this. Our bad.

Anonymous
Anonymous

Anonymous

Level
0
Score
0

It sounds like you don't intend to support the plugin anymore?

DIMELO - SocialCRM software editor