Given Version Management is the bedrock of good Document Management I can't see why there is even an option to turn it off.
Anyway, I appreciate that in some cases (ie. binary files) it may not be needed. What is really annoying though is that when you turn it on, the setting is completely ignored when dragging and dropping folders from the desktop into the folder with Version Management on.
IMHO the Version Management flag should ALWAYS inherit from it's parent folder, regardless of how the new folder is created. It does this when creating the folder manually in PP but not when Dragging and Dropping!
an anonymous voted